This page provides direct links to NCVI letters, congresional testimony, press releases and other public statements.


  • May 5, 2004, U.S. Election Assistance Commission, Public Hearing, " Use, Security, and Reliability of Electronic Voting Systems"


Press Releases

Other Public Statements


The first meeting of the EAC's Technical Guidelines Development Committeetook place on July 9, 2004. The members of the committee are Chair Dr. Arden Bement, Hon. Donetta Davidson, Alice Miller, Sharon Turner-Buie, Helen Purcell, James R. Harding, James Elekes, Anne Caldas, H. Stephen Berger, Dr. Brittain Williams, Paul Craft, Dr. Ronald Rivest, Dr. Daniel Schutzer (via phone), Patrick Gannon, and Whitney Quesenbery. (July 9, 2004)

The National Committee for Voting Integrity (NCVI) endorsesthe Leadership Conference on Civil Rightsand the Brennan Center's Recommendationsto Election Administrators that would address some of the security concerns outlined by voting technology experts. (June 29, 2004)

The League of Women Voters changes positionby removing its endorsement of paperless direct recording electronic (DRE) voting machines after Dr. Barbara Simons, NCVI Committee member was successful in leading the effort to pass a resolution to amend their position at the League's convention held in Washington, DC. (June 21,2004)

The National Institute of Standards and Technology(NIST) held a two-day symposiumto discuss issues relevant to the implementation of the Help America Vote Actto foster dialogue and collaboration amongst voting and election stakeholders. (December 10-11, 2003)

The US Senate confirmedthe appointmentsof Chair DeForest Soaries, Jr. and Vice Chair Gracia M. Hillman, Commissioner Paul S. DeGregorio, and Commissioner Raymundo Martinez, III to serve as members of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC). This new agency was created by the Help America Vote Actin 2002. (December 9, 2003)